Royal Awakening - the Sautekh rise to the challenge

Kenzaburo

Hello fellow Phaerons,

I recently started painting Necrons, after I subscribed to Warhammer Imperium. At first I wasn't interested in them, but due to me becoming a father I thought the Necrons might be the ideal painting project for the early parenthood. You can just accomplish so much with little work - at least compared with astartes.

While the thread is mostly intended for the Royal Awakening, I thought I might start off with the first models I already painted before the start. It's just a few warriors and scarabs.

I've taken a pic of the first warriors for my instagram a couple of weeks ago and I'm also working on a plasmycyte and a cryptek currently.

Necron-group.png

Necron-1.png

Necron-1-back.png

Necron-2.png

Necron-2-back.png

Necron-3.png

Necron-3-back.png

Plasmacyte-WIP.png

I've also started building the first Flayed One for the challenge. Wow, that was a pain to put together - the positioning of the legs was driving me crazy. But one down, 4 more to go. :smile.:

EDIT: Forgot to mention: I'm basically going with a Sautekh paint scheme, because I like the classic silver and green look. I decided to add sort of a marble black plating to them to make them look a tad more menacing. And to contrast all the cool colors on the minis themselves I chose warm desert bases, littered with the same black marble/basalt/whatever I use for armor plates and such.
Edited by Kenzaburo

Thank you, JaM. I generally do like painting, but Necrons are fun and quite quick to do. I dind't originally intend to paint the Imperium Necrons, but I thought the sculpts looked great and then thought what the heck, let's do a few for fun. So now it seems like I'm at least painting what I get with the subscription which is a complete army, if I'm not mistaken. :)