Jump to content

Lightning Claws


Mr Peon

Recommended Posts

From memory when looking over the rules, if you have multiple close combat attacks and only 1 weapon with a special ability then all of your attacks come with that special ability. So with Dual lightning claws you could get the same affect from a lightning claw and bolt pistol or combat blade, as they have no special abilities. So why are people paying another 30 points to get dual claws still?
Link to comment
Share on other sites

If you buy one lightning claw, you get X power weapon attacks that can reroll to wound.

 

If you buy two, you get X+1 attacks.

 

So the second claw is for the second attack.

 

You can't get the additional attack for two close combat weapons with Lightning Claws unless you have another Lightning Claw.

 

The question is whether the additional attack is worth it. I think so. Meh for shooting, go CC!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Look in the rulebook under special close combat weapon attacks, page 42:

 

Powerfists, thunder hammers, and lightning claws are an exception to this. Only a second power fist, thunder hammer or lightning claw can confer a bonus attack to a model equipped with one of these weapons.

 

Originally only applied to lightning claws in editions 3 and 4, but in edition 5 they decided powerfists needed a nerf beyond points cost and I1. :P

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Does kinda make power swords redundant on models without a second CC weapon. I think there's going to be a lot of captains with bolters (combi or otherwise) and relic blades, that look suspiciously like a vanilla power weapon, finding their way into space marine armies.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 months later...
Look in the rulebook under special close combat weapon attacks, page 42:

 

Powerfists, thunder hammers, and lightning claws are an exception to this. Only a second power fist, thunder hammer or lightning claw can confer a bonus attack to a model equipped with one of these weapons.

 

Originally only applied to lightning claws in editions 3 and 4, but in edition 5 they decided powerfists needed a nerf beyond points cost and I1. :)

wait... Chainfists? or do they still count as powerfists?...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

No, as the rules for chain fists say that they are treated like powerfists with a 2d6 for armour penetration. You could use your same logic to say that ork power Klaws can get the bonus as they are not powerfists. The question is could you have a powerfist and a chain fist and get the bonus.... but then again could you actually get both on a model legally?
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Termies have one Powerfist. The other's holding a Stormbolter. One's about 4 times the size of the other! :)

 

You're right of course ... that will teach me to post with next to zero sleep ... it's only my TLC termies that look to have powerfists on both hands (obviously!)

 

And to steelmage, I wasn't looking for rules justification via model, just putting out an observation (granted it was an incorrect one). I'm a DA player, I'm very used to being told to play by the rules <grin>

 

- Dunedon

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.