Jump to content

Tau Drone Saviour Protocols


t-dog1996
 Share

Recommended Posts

When a Tau unit with the Saviour protocols rule is wounded within 3 inches of a drone, the rules state that on a 2+ that wound can be allocated to the drone on the roll of a 2+. How does this work in the case of wounds that deal multiple damage? If, for instance, a battlesuit suffered multiple unsaved wounds from supercharged plasma weapons, with each thereby dealing two wounds, would one drone be able to absorb both wounds from one unsaved wound? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

When a Tau unit with the Saviour protocols rule is wounded within 3 inches of a drone, the rules state that on a 2+ that wound can be allocated to the drone on the roll of a 2+. How does this work in the case of wounds that deal multiple damage? If, for instance, a battlesuit suffered multiple unsaved wounds from supercharged plasma weapons, with each thereby dealing two wounds, would one drone be able to absorb both wounds from one unsaved wound? 

 

The complete wound gets transformed into a single mortal wound. You don't even get to the step where you roll the damage.

The attack hits, the hit wounds, the wound gets transformed into a mortal wound and transfered to the Drone.

 

So in your example, say of 5 Plasma shots, 4 hit your Crisis Suits, 3 manage to wound them.

Before the damage gets calculated and even before the Crisis Suits can try to make their save rolls you roll for the Saviour Protocols. Let's say you manage to roll two 2+ and one 1.

So that means two of those Plasma shots get turned into a single mortal wound each, regardless of what damage they'd do normally. Two of your Drones die (unless they are Shield Drones and you manage the 5+++ rolls). However you failed to intercept one shot so for that remaining shot your Crisis Suit can now attempt to roll a save and if it fails one Suit takes 2 damage.

 

Yes, Drones are this good as bodyguards. ^^

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So just a quick hi-jack here for an addendum then: does that mean any attack that has an effect like "wounding rolls of 6 inflict a mortal wound in addition to normal damage" would be mitigated by the effect? (as in the drones actually take even that mortal wound and condense it down into their one singular one)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

So just a quick hi-jack here for an addendum then: does that mean any attack that has an effect like "wounding rolls of 6 inflict a mortal wound in addition to normal damage" would be mitigated by the effect? (as in the drones actually take even that mortal wound and condense it down into their one singular one)

No, unfortunately for us not.

Drones intercept after the wounding roll and by that time the special rule of that attack already kicked in and caused a mortal wound which is a completely separate entity from the attack you'd try to intercept.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 4 months later...

So I attacked with my Chaos Lord with Plaguebeinger (does mortal wounds on rolls of 6+), he had Blades of Putrefaction on him (+1 to wound rolls and does mortal wounds on 7+), and VotLW (+1 to wound). He had drones nearby to take the wounds and my wound rolls were 3, 5, 5, 5, and 6. So I did 5 normal wounds with Plaguebringer, 4 mortal wounds with Plaguebringer and 4 mortal wounds with Blades.

He said he only needed to try and pass off the 5 normal wounds and the mortal wounds would transfer at that time. I told him the mortal wounds were separate so he ended up rolling 13 times to transfer them. It sounds like he shouldn't have been able to transfer the mortal wounds at all.

How should this have been resolved?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

EDITED as I'd forgotten the FAQ entry so made a fundamental mistake ...ooops

 

So my take on it that is would be as follows....

 

 

Your roll to wound gave 5 success + 8 MWs

 

So the Target takes 8 MWs

 

Drones can now take 5 + 8** saviour rolls  - for argument pass 4 of the normal attacks & 5 of the Mortal wounds - Drones now take 9  MWs, followed by any FNP rolls* they might have

 

target takes 1 armour/ invun save from the failed normal attack - for arguments sake, fails

           you now expand this wound out to the amount of damage (eg D6) if applicable, for this its staying at D1

 

target now takes 4 wound negation rolls (FNP) if available (the 1 failed armour save + the 3 MWs the drones didnt take)

 

 

 

*these rolls can be done at this point interuppting the normal process for ease of remembering OR taken after all rolls for the target have been done.

**due to the different stats and rules its better to roll them in different batches.

 

 

 

Q: For the purposes of the Saviour Protocols ability, what exactly constitutes an attack? A: In this context, it is an attack made with a ranged or melee weapon.

relavent FAQ entry!

 

 

 

Is this right?

Edited by Slasher956
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thank you all...

 

Now I'm not sure it matters, but if they have multiple drone units available to transfer the wounds to, do they need to choose which unit they are going to use before they make their roll(s)?

Yes, it's the Drones using their ability so he has to pick a Drone unit in range to use the ability with for each wound separately.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

As it so happens the Mortal Wounds thing is mentioned in the FAQ and makes Drones even better lol

 

 

 

Q: If an attack inflicts mortal wounds on the target, and the
attack is subsequently allocated to a Drones unit as a result
of the Saviour Protocols ability, what happens to those mortal
wounds inflicted?
A: They are cancelled. All damage and mortal wounds
inflicted as the result of that attack is reduced to the
mortal wound inflicted by the Saviour Protocols ability on
that Drones unit.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...

This new drone ruling confuses me, because there's something not mentioned above....

 

Change this ability to read: ‘When resolving an attack made against a Infantry or Battlesuit unit whilst that unit is within 3" of a friendly Drones unit, if the wound roll is successful, you can roll one D6; on a 2+ that Drones unit suffers 1 mortal wound and the attack sequence ends.’ 

 

 

So this means the trigger for saviour protocols is an attack.

 

This (to me) means that a wound occurring from anything not deemed an 'attack' cannot be passed to drones.

 

Psychic mortal wounds are an example of this. But there's more....

 

Q: If an attack inflicts mortal wounds on a unit as a result of a hit roll, and the attack sequence ends before it successfully wounds the target (e.g. the Hellfire Shells Stratagem or an attack made with a shokk attack gun with a Strength characteristic of 11+ that fails to wound the target), can I allocate the mortal wounds to a Drones unit with the Saviour Protocols ability? A: No. As the attack sequence has ended before the target has been wounded, there is no wound to allocate to the Drones unit. Therefore the target suffers the mortal wounds as normal.

 

 

So there is a precedent set above for a non-attack mortal wound which can't be placed on drones. 

 

So how does Prot deal with drones now? 

 

I auto explode my vehicles whenever possible.... causing mortal wounds to drones (usually near by) and whatever characters, etc, I can.

 

Would you guys agree that what I've been doing is legal? 

 

Obviously in my opinion it is legal as there seems to be no event that would trigger the drones' ability. I have found this to be  fairly effective (if not entirely dependable) way of dealing with drone spam. (I just took out a guys warlord which was surrounded by drones my last game this way.)

 

Thoughts?

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.