Whitelion Posted August 30, 2020 Share Posted August 30, 2020 I have a question about the BFG Rules regarding Vortex missiles. I did not understand if there is a limit of vortex torpedoes for each ship, or if only some specific ships can be armed with vortex torpedoes. Do I have to declare when I start the game if I intend to arm the ship with Vortex warheads? Back to top Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leif Bearclaw Posted August 30, 2020 Share Posted August 30, 2020 If you're following the original special torpedo rules (because there may well be alternate rule sets/faqs out there, BFG got complicated fast) you can't buy vortex torpedoes directly. You buy 'special torpedoes' (which you can do for any ship with torpedoes at a cost depending on salvo strength (Eldar pay a further premium, because Eldar ordnance is twisted)) and then roll to determine what sort of torps you get, with a 6 getting you Vortex. There is indeed a limit on Vortex torpedoes though (along with melta and seeking), you only get a single salvo per game whereas the other types of special (short burn, guided and barrage bombs) you get an unlimited supply. Whitelion 1 Back to top Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whitelion Posted August 31, 2020 Author Share Posted August 31, 2020 In other words, there are only 6 vortex torpedoes per ship in each game? Even if rolling the dice always comes up with a 6 every turn, once I have used the vortexes, even if a 6 comes up, can I no longer use them? Back to top Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bung Posted August 31, 2020 Share Posted August 31, 2020 In other words, there are only 6 vortex torpedoes per ship in each game? Even if rolling the dice always comes up with a 6 every turn, once I have used the vortexes, even if a 6 comes up, can I no longer use them? Yes, they are one use per game. In other words you can shot once with Vortex Torpedos in a single game. Back to top Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whitelion Posted August 31, 2020 Author Share Posted August 31, 2020 In other words, there are only 6 vortex torpedoes per ship in each game? Even if rolling the dice always comes up with a 6 every turn, once I have used the vortexes, even if a 6 comes up, can I no longer use them? Yes, they are one use per game. In other words you can shot once with Vortex Torpedos in a single game. where can i find this rule? Back to top Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bung Posted August 31, 2020 Share Posted August 31, 2020 In the rules for Special Torpedos. You can find them in the Warpstorm book https://wh40k.lexicanum.com/wiki/Warp_Storm_(rulebook) and maybe some other publications. Back to top Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whitelion Posted September 2, 2020 Author Share Posted September 2, 2020 mmmm, it's very hard to find, thaks a lot Back to top Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firedrake Cordova Posted September 2, 2020 Share Posted September 2, 2020 where can i find this rule? They're on page 131-2 of BFG: Armada (under "Refits"), which is one of the PDFs Specialist Arms has permission to host :) Whitelion 1 Back to top Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whitelion Posted September 2, 2020 Author Share Posted September 2, 2020 ok thanks, vortex torpedoes inflict damage equal to the strength of the special torpedoes I bought, or being vortex weapons destroy the target ship in one hit like in the Titans game? Back to top Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firedrake Cordova Posted September 3, 2020 Share Posted September 3, 2020 (edited) ok thanks, vortex torpedoes inflict damage equal to the strength of the special torpedoes I bought, or being vortex weapons destroy the target ship in one hit like in the Titans game? Each hit scored by a vortex torpedo means you automatically get to roll on the critical damage table (2D6), instead of having to roll a 6 after inflicting damage. As far as I know, nothing in BFG has an "instant death" property, but the critical damage table does have some very nasty options on it. Edited September 3, 2020 by Firedrake Cordova Whitelion 1 Back to top Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.