Okay, so first I put down my model and scatter it. If it lands 1” away from enemies or impassable terrain its fine, if not then my opponent places the model within 18” of the scattered point. My first question is about the first paragraph of pg 311:
“Once the model’s final position has been decided, the remainder of the unit may be deployed anywhere that is within unit coherency and more than 1" from any enemy model or piece of Impassable Terrain. Any models that cannot be placed are removed as casualties.”
1. 1. Who places the remaining models of the unit?
Do I only place them when my deepstriking model doesn’t scatter within 1” of enemies or impassable terrain? Does my opponent place them when he relocates them within 18”, or do I place them in both instances? The text doesn't mention which player places the remining models.
2. Can I make a line of models in coherency towards the next enemy unit?
2. It says the unit must be placed within unit coherency and 1” away from enemies and impassable terrain, but there is no maximum distance I can place those models. So could I just line them up in maximum unit coherency towards my enemy like in the following picture?
Follow Up-Question 2.5: If my opponent places the rest of my unit when he relocates the deepstrike, could he do a similar thing and make a line towards my own battlefield edge?
The next part of the rules explains the difference between a disordered and ordered deepstrike:
“Once this first unit has been deployed, roll a D6. On the roll of a ‘1’, the Deep Strike Assault is Disordered, and the opposing player may deploy each other unit in the Deep Strike Assault anywhere within 24" of the first unit without scattering, though no model may be within 1" of an enemy model or within Impassable Terrain. If the roll is a ‘2’ or higher, then the controlling player deploys each other unit anywhere within 12" of the first, though no model may be within 1" of an enemy model or within Impassable Terrain.”
. 3. If for example I don’t roll a disordered Assault result, the text says that the unit must be placed within 12” of the first unit, but it doesn`t say “wholly within”. So could I place a second unit like in the following picture?
4. If for the 1. Question the answer is that my opponent places my models when he places the scattered first model, and in the case of an disordered result he can place my 2. Unit within 24”, could he do the following?
Because for our gaming group this is all “Rules as Written”, but probably not “Rules as Intended” so my gaming group would probably homebrew this.