Jump to content

Has GW lost their minds... typo or uber-unit?


Recommended Posts

Hi Folks

 

I've heard of this "typo" before, but never checked it out till now. On pg 94 of the Chaos Marine Codex, it states that for 10pts any terminator "characters" can be upgraded to Terminator Champions (with the resulting wargear options). Now how is everyone reading this? Does it mean all chaos terminators can be champions for 10 pts, only "character" terminators (like special leaders or something I guess) or something else entirely.

 

I've felt the chaos dex was a bit overpowered, but this is taking it to a whole new level....

 

Any thoughts or update references would be greatly appreciated.

 

Cheers and Happy Hunting

It really only gains you an extra attack per guy.

 

 

I see, but if they are LC termies... that gives them what... 5 attacks on the charge... I'd go for that for 10 pts...

 

cheers for the info tho :wallbash:

its 10 points each, factor in that you are allready paying 30 points for them, with lightning claws thats 50 points each, hardly unbalanced at all, a squad of 10 of these would shell in at 500 points, and 1 demolisher cannon will make a big dent in them all the same.

Throw on IoTz and give them a 4+ invuln, almost as good as the loyalist scum and their thunder hammers.

Throw on IoK and give them yet another attack, and each model is attacking faster than a pimped out loyalist scum Captain.

Throw on IoN and give them a much better survival rate against basic weapons, and better survival in hand to hand (which is their forte)

Throw on IoS and those Lightning Claws attack at I5, laying waste to your enemy before they can attack back.

 

But unless you spend the extra points to put 6 of these monsters in a LR, you've got no good way to deliver them to the enemy.

Not even remotely close to broken. The cost of giving three terminators +1 attack each gets you a brand new terminator with the same number of attacks on the charge. BUT you get one extra wound with the extra terminator. Unless you're maxing out a unit of 10 guys (or 5 guys in a LR) it's not even a remotely decent option, let alone a broken one.
its 10 points each, factor in that you are allready paying 30 points for them, with lightning claws thats 50 points each, hardly unbalanced at all, a squad of 10 of these would shell in at 500 points, and 1 demolisher cannon will make a big dent in them all the same.

 

nurglez, did you use terminators in the previous codex? Do you remember how expensive decent sized terminator units used to cost? Remember how terminator units used to be "unviable" without the particular Veteran Skill? Remember how much -extra- that cost?

 

Furthermore, no one advocated that people should be spending 500pts on this unit, never mind -any- unit. (Unless it's Apocalypse).

I've seen this unit used against me with hideous effect:

 

Lord

Terminator Armour, Twin Lightning Claws, Mark of Khorne

 

Chaos Terminators

Four Men, Twin Lightning Claw Champion x3, Heavy Flamer/Lightning Claw/Icon of Nurgle (for survivability, rather than fluffiness)

Land Raider - fixins

 

Now, I didn't bother going through both codecies to see how much this unit (or similar one; with "marks" changed) would cost, but I'm fairly certain that it's -vastly- cheaper now than it was before.

Same goes for every other terminator unit.

 

They're ridiculously cheap. Cheap to the point where it's a "no-brainer" option on what to take as Elite slots (Possessed... really!? The rules designers and play testers really didn't do a damn thing).

 

Furthermore, you could take multiple Champion upgrades on your "Chosen" unit, which were also the only unit entry (apart from HQ's) which could then "Take Terminator Armour" (and therefore having a Terminator Squad).

 

 

Therefore:

-Yes, you can take multiple champions.

-You could before

-It was even more expensive to do so before

-It's still just as effective to do it now.

 

 

Besides, if you don't think it "fluffy" for terminators to have multiple champions; in the previous rulebook (which -had- fluff in it... *sigh*) the Lord/Lieutenant/Sorcerer's Chosen were his handpicked retinue of the best warriors he commanded. The most ruthless, powerful individuals would therefore get the best wargear, armour and weapons to suit.

 

Only want to upgrade some of your champions and still justify it fluff wise? Think that even if said warrior is "Chosen", he still has many rituals and sacrifices to intiate before he can be considered a Champion.

 

 

Cheers,

Lawrence.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.