I Fail at Faces

OwenCrute

Okay, so my brother Alex of Imperial Fists fame gives me a few hundred points of Witch Hunters that he bought but never got beyond undercoating with for Christmas. At home, I have very few painting, converting or other facilities, but for this week I'm staying at his house- eating his food, playing with his baby, stealing his paint. These are the results.

Canoness (with pathetically painted face goodness!)

gallery_35410_3112_198190.jpg

Seraphim (with exorcist-driver conversion Superior goodness!)

gallery_35410_3112_77544.jpg

Dominions (with thankfully two-thirds helmet-wearers)

gallery_35410_3112_160240.jpg

Repentia Test Model (with blotchy failure to Flesh Wash)

gallery_35410_3112_86265.jpg

Ta-dah!

If you haven't been blinded by this, kindly leave some C+C!

It's a good start on the faces. I remember when I started painting faces...dreaded it...avoided it as much as possible. But then I started getting better after practice. I try to stay away from the old range washes, just made it seem like all washed their faces in mud or something.

Currently, I'm starting with Scorched brown for a basecoat for flesh. Paint on bestial brown, leaving scorched brown in the recesses. Then I just add increasing amounts of bleached bone for each highlight layer. Albeit you can achieve the same effect by buying the "flesh" colours. I'm just doing this because I don't have any and don't wanna spend my money on them haha.

Other than that, I really like how you painted your power sword on the canoness. I can see you did some highlighting on the black for the canoness but what about your other sisters? Maybe it's just the camera. The red robes and corset sections could use some depth to it, maybe a wash of badab black or baal red?