DEVASTATOR SQUADS

rus11870

I'm relatively new to 40K, about a year now, and I've had mixed results with Devastator Squads. I've used 5 man teams and full 10 man squads, just not sure of the points are worth the extra 10, just to eat up assault hits when those damn Orks or Nids show up. I rather use the points for more Tactical Squads and try to keep those close assault type armies aways from my Devastator Squads, but that me, what do you all think?

My Devs, known as "Love and Rockets" are Serg, always uses signum, 3 missiles, Lascannon, TL Las Razorback, and NEVER allow themselves into CC. 1st turn bus speeds into place, disembark; 2nd turn gain vantage point on hill, up building etc; rest of game play huntin' wabbits. No need for unarmed marines, and there's one spare seat in the bus for an IC should I want it!

The extra Marines are not just for repelling Assaults. I personally would not be willing to take a Devastator Squad without the spare bodies to eat up incoming fire. Heavy Weapons Devastators are just too expensive to risk without their supporting Brother-Marines.

If you are having your Devs assaulted, then perhaps you should take 10. Combat squad them and use the other 5 as a speed hump in front. They assault your marines, probably kill them, you light up their rears with heavy fire!

The better way of course is give the incoming assaulters some priority and take them down first.

I have played too many horde armies it seems, Orks and Nids. I've had success with both config's, it just all seems i'm out numbered and out diced(if you know what I mean).

But I think I will try combat squading them next time and split my heavy weapons. I also wish the SIGNUM worked for all squad members not just one Brother-Marine.

I'd agree with 10 man squads. That gives you 3 choices

1) Keep them as a 10 man squad, with 6 bullet sponges

2) Combat squad them with 2 heavies per squad, to split your firepower.