How to: Sternguard?

Duce

To start off I’ll just state I’m new to 40k after a decade of not playing, so everything is learning.

I've prob played about 5 games total (All 1000 points so far to help in getting turns done and learning rules) but in the last two I’ve taken sternguard since I love the idea of them. The first time I took 6 of them 4 with combi meltas in a razorback, the second time I took 8 which i attached to lysander for the bolter drill and had 6 combi meltas, they had a rhino but I was using it more for cover and added a hunter killer to see how it fared (didn’t start lysander with the squad, and the squad did not begin in the rhino - due to termie armour not allowed in rhinos).

Here’s where it gets interesting, both times I’ve fired the combi meltas, 1st game vs a whirlwind, 2nd vs a dreadnaught and none really hit. the whirlwind was immobilised, but it already had been in a previous turn.

What am I doing wrong? The first game I rushed them forward behind two rhino transports and deployed them only to lose 2 to shooting after failing to kill a whirlwind. I hear so many stories of sternguard really wiping enemy units and blowing tanks and how it’s rare not to...it makes me wonder if I’ve missed something.

In the second I hung back and shot at the enemy marines but they did not seem to do much damage.

I suppose to cut this rambling short what I’m asking for is ideas, suggestions. and if possible what their ammo rounds should be used for (As in the instances, and vs what generally)

anyone got some help for me, such things as loads outs, powerfists worthwhile etc?

Well in my first two outings with the Stern I had my Beloved 7 with Librarian locked in combat with Thousand Sons after wiping the squad of 7 down to the Sorcerer and 1 other. That combat lasted 2 turns and saw the death of my Librarian (I have a power fist in the squad as well!) and the majority of the other guys.