silly question: how many attacks does a standand marine have

Bennethon

I am a 40k noob, but I am playing with a couple of guys who are veterans. They seem to be under the impression that a space marine with the stock loadout (boltgun and pistol) will always have a minimum of 2 attacks in the assault phase. I think they are under the impression that a space marine can use his boltgun as a close combat weapon to gain the additional attack. But I can't find anything about this in the rules. I don't mind so much... since I am playing space marines and they aren't, but I'd like to play by the rules, ya know?

Thanks

They are wrong.

Charging, a marine with a boltgun gets 2 attacks: 1 as base, +0 for extra close combat weapons, and +1 for charging. Though he has a pistol and a boltgun, the boltgun is not a close combat weapon and thus he has only one close combat weapon (the pistol), which does not entitle him to a bonus attack. In subsequent rounds, the tactical marine will have only 1 attack: 1 as base, +0 for extra weapons, +0 for charging.

This applies to Codex: Space Marines tactical marines.

I am a 40k noob, but I am playing with a couple of guys who are veterans.

Remember, with hobbies like this 'veteran' can be a loose term, thrown around like chump change. Just because they may have been playing longer, doesn't automatically make them right. When the two do actually happen, it's just coincident. A newbie can be just a correct, or incorrect, about a rule as someone that's been in the hobby since the begining. Actually, it tends to be a bit harder for some 'vets', as they mis-remember things, with older rules skewing or clouding their memory of how the current rules work.

As Gothard said, they were wrong.

I think they are under the impression that a space marine can use his boltgun as a close combat weapon to gain the additional attack.