Charging Berzerkers from Rhinos

Hello,

I'm pretty new to playing 40k, (having only played a couple of games way back in 2nd edition), so please forgive me if this is a daft question, but what is the best way to get a unit of Berzerkers from a Rhino into hand to hand combat?

You obviously want to get the first charge for your Furious Charge bonus, but from reading the rule book the only way you can disembark from a Rhino and charge in the same round is if it hasn't moved yet. So the way I see it is you throw your Rhino up the board to within charging range, leave it for your opponent to shoot the bejesus out of or counter charge in his turn, and if your Rhino isn't scrap then jump your men out and charge on your next go.

Is there no better way than this?

That is essentially it, I'm afraid. recall that if the rhino is popped in assault, you'll still be able to charge with the berzerkers the next turn. if it's popped by shooting, they could get charged. the only way to move and charge is to pay ~6 times more and get a land raider.

As you said you can park your rino and hope for best or you can park rino and exit on back side using rino as shield (still can't charge that turn) or I know some people get their brzrkrs out of rino the turn before they think they will be in charge range and footslog them behind rino next turn. Any of those requires, good distance jugement on your part, your opponent to be in a bad situtation, and a bit of luck. I've pulled off assaults from rinos a few times but usually against relatitively inexperienced players. If I take brzrkrs I give them LR, rinos are for csm's and PM's.

If you want the guaranteed assault, the land raider is your choice. However, keep in mind that the points you are paying for a raider will buy you a full 10 squad of another zerkers with a power weapon. So do you want one for sure squad to get in, or two squads with a decent chance?