How can you use Jump Marines effectively?

thade

I'm very new to WH40K, so new that the last piece in my first army (from AoBR) is finally drying and I'm looking for ways to expand my army. In the RTSs assault marines are effective and really fun, and they look like they could be effective and fun in the table top as well...but it seems like everywhere I see variations on the following statement:

"Assault marines are useless."

Justifications are either they die too fast, don't put out enough damage, or both.

So here I'm asking directly...how can you make use of assault marines on the field?

Thanks in advance. =)

well, i havent played many games myself, but from my few, they are certainley not useless!!

Advance them as much as you can using cover where viable, put pressure on your enemies.

Another note, try to send something up with them, a rhino with a tactical squad for instance, adds to the pressure, and rhino acts as mobile cover

The trouble with Assault Marines is the fact that they're non scoring. However they can be very effective on the charge against troops with a 4+ save (or worse) or against small, isolated groups of 3+ save troops. I'd use a squad of ten with a Powerfist, two flamers and accompanied by a Chaplain. The amount of damage it can do is really quite impressive.

On a negative note, minimum sized or small squads of Assault Marines do very little except die.

Some quick guidelines for using Assault Marines in a Codex chapter...

Bring a large squad. 7+ is ideal. Never less than that. A squad of smaller than 7 or 8 lacks the wounds and attacks to make any real dent in anything, especially things in power armour.