My first chapter WIP

Moshutta

Hi everyone, this is actually my first post here, although I have been a lurker for while and have found loads of inspiration from all you guys!

To explain how this chapter came about I have to give some background to these minis. I am quite new to the hobby (6 months or so) and I fell in love with the space marines immediately when a friend that works at a GW store introduced me to it and bought a tactical squad to get me started, and being a beginner basically just copied what was on the box cover, Ultramarines.

After painting that, some scouts a captain and a rhino, and as I got more into the hobby and reading the background materials I realized I wasn't really enjoying the blue little guys so much and wanted to do something original, and especially after starting to read all the amazing work people have posted on B&C with original chapters!

So, after lots and lots of research I decided that the general theme I wanted was Native Americans. I haven't seen anyone do it so far, and I always loved their history and culture.

Next came the colour scheme, I opted for one with earthy tones as the base, as that seemed the most appropriate. I also decided that I should introduce other primary colours, and so after a few hours on the SM painter I settled on these:

1st company veteran

gallery_45285_3693_43558.jpg

2nd company veteran

gallery_45285_3693_16314.jpg

3rd company tactical

gallery_45285_3693_9615.jpg

4th company devastator

gallery_45285_3693_11565.jpg

After this came the job of stripping all my ultramarines of all the paint. This took me a few weeks, expecialy trying to find a suitable product for stripping here in Sweden, eventually I found in a local art shop a pencil cleaner made by a company called Dekorima that is actually, based on Simple Green!

So, now that all the stripping is done I have started to attempt my first conversions with Green Stuff, and a painting the colour scheme. This is my progress so far: