Power of the Machine Spirit

Antrozous

Hey,

I play at two different stores in town, and I have run into two different interpretations of the Power of the Machine Spirit rule for Land Raiders. The 5th ed codex states "A Land Raider can fire one more weapon than would normally be permitted. In addition, this weapon can be fired at a different target unit to any other weapons, subject to the normal rules of shooting." Now, if a Land Raider does not move in a turn, then it can fire everything in that following shooting phase (At least assuming that, still a bit of a Noob here). So the way the rule reads, "It can fire one more weapon than would normally be permitted" does this translate to mean that one weapon can be shot twice? For example, you have a LR crusader, it fires everything, then you use POMS to shoot the assault cannon a second time.

We were discussing this during a game at one of the shops while a friend of mine was playing and using his Land Raider. The players at one shop say yes, if it does not move, and you shoot everything, POMS allows you to shoot one weapon again, that makes since to us the way it reads. However, a player at the other shop says no, it does not work like that, everything can only shoot once per turn, regardless of POMS.

I'm looking for clarification as I am working in my first Land Raider and want to fully understand this rule so I can use it to it's full potential, but also not abuse it.

Thanks.

Ditto the first two responses.

I had a related question come up last night. If the Raider pops smoke, can it still fire 1 weapon using PotMS? My interpretation was the smoke lets you fire 0 weapons (much like moving >6" does), and then PotMS lets you fire one more, meaning you can fire 1 weapon. Wasn't sure if this was contradicted anywhere.

Sorry to thread-jack, but the first question seems to have been answered, and this seems relevant.

Each weapon on a vehicle can only fire once.