Captain or Librarian epistolary

Titan87

Hey everybody, I'm looking for advice on what unit I should bring with my 2500 point army and I could use some help figuring out which one is better, both seem pretty even to me, also both HQ's would be attached to an assault terminator squad.

1 Librarian with storm shield epistolary with might of ancients and null zone (190 points)

or

2 Captain with artificer armor, relic blade (145 points)

Okay obviously the captain is much better in combat with more wounds, higher initiative, and +1 attack. (I would use the extra 30 points to add power weapons to 2 tac squads. Also I have a chapter master so Ld isn't a problem)

The librarian however makes his unit much more killy with null zone, and hits at the same strength with might of ancients AND has the psychic hood to nullify other psychic powers.

So which should I use?

I wish, it is for a house rules match with 3 rules 1. You must have a chapter master (the event is called battle of the chapters) 2 2500 point armies 3 You must use the force organization chart

Usually I use a chapter master anyway, that orbital bombardment is just to sweet when it hits first turn. This is also one of my first games at 2500 points.

Also there will be chaos SM players there as well as Codex:SM, Dark Angels, and a Space Wolf chapter.

My general rule of thumb is to use a Librarian for my 2nd Character, since it seems the Psychic Hood becomes more important the bigger the game. At least you're getting the one power that makes sense for an Epistolary: Might of the Ancients. This turns your Librarian into a Character Killer, since you can use Might of the Ancients AND your often-forgotten Force Weapon together. With the 2+/3++ save, he'll be hard to kill, too.