Black Legion Insignia

Hello everyone. I'm a long-time lurker and first time poster. Let me say I have found this site to be a wealth of information, I have spent endless hours just browsing through all the great forums.

I started playing 40k way back in the Rogue Trader era, and I've recently come back to play after way too long away from the game.

I have a question regarding Black Legion insignia, and I have been unsuccessful in finding any information using the search feature.

When I first read about the Black Legion way back when in the Realm of Chaos books, their insignia was a plain black field depicted on banners and shoulder pads. As I recall this was a reminder of their shame and humiliation brought about by Horus's failure.

Now in the newer books, they use the Eye of Horus as their insignia. This seems, imo, to be a bit contradictory - to display the symbol of the cause of their shame, as opposed to the original plain black painted over the original legion insignia.

Am I misunderstanding the whole thing with Horus? Or if not, how can the display of the Eye of Horus be explained, fluff-wise?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Hey,

their insignia was a plain black field

This was not Abaddon's fault, but GW's. Consider the Red Corsairs' "insignia".

Talk about shame . . .

in the newer books, they use the Eye of Horus as their insignia

If it walks like expediency, and talks like expediency . . .

As I remember the fluff timeline:

* FF Legion insignia derives from centuries-long central authority (Primarchs).

* Luna Wolves became the Sons of Horus by Imperial fiat (aka game devs).

* This retcons the too-much-like-Space-Wolves insignia to the Eye.

* Horus dies, some Marines retreat and reform under Abaddon.

* Abaddon organizes renegade Marines for "Black" Crusades.

So, there is no Black "Legion" in the First Founding sense of the term.

"Legion", as used here, describes a great number of Black Crusaders.