Need a rules interpretation...

Alrich_40000

Hey everyone.. I'm pretty new to the game. I have bought a crapton of Space Marines and am looking to begin building my army. I've not played a game yet but I feel I have a good academic understanding of the rules and the Codices. After glancing through the Marine Codex I thought about getting a Land Speeder Storm or two for my force.

Looking through the vehicle's rules and special equipment, I noticed something and I wanted to see if anyone had thought of this or encountered it. The Storm comes with the Teleport Jammer to interfere with deep striking and items that help prevent scatter. If you read the sentence carefully it says that "Teleport Homers, Chaos Icons, and similar items that prevent deep strike scatter do not function within 6" of the Storm."

:huh:

Did that just say that Chaos Icons don't work near a Storm?

Looking at it from a writing and grammar standpoint, if you drop out the "Teleport homers" and "similar items that prevent scatter" parts, the sentence reads "Chaos Icons do not function near the Storm." So it doesn't say that Icons keep their other benefits but lose the teleport homing feature, it says that the Icons flat-out no longer function. Does that mean that Scout Speeders are a great anti-Chaos vehicle?

I'm looking for some veteran players' expert opinions, so thanks for the help guys!

You would have a pretty hard time convincing someone that their Chaos Icon loses its other abilities.

What other abilities does a chaos icon have?

Super disceting of the English Language to find a rule that better suits your needs is something I have a major problem with in this game.

Droping out phrases from a rule as written (RAW) is changing the rule......

The thing to remember is that the rule specifically states preventing deep strike scatter, that is what it prevents not other abilities.

Hello Alrich & welcome to the B&C: