Using Chaos against Tau and Orks

Nurgle71

My two friends have been starting new 40k armies as of late and they are growing steadily. Since I have been collecting my Chaos Space Marine for a couple of years now, I have been playing many 40k games against them. I recently noted I'm getting my general-rear-end :D area kicked more often than not.

Both of them only have roughly 1200pts (we prefer to play painted) and they play either one-on-one at about 1000pt or in a team with 2000pt per side.

I need help in fighting them both combined or one at a time. I got 3500pts of Chaos with a bit of everything but I rely a bit more on infantry power of tanks.

Berserkers VS Orks = A lot of dead Orks. This is a point I've proven many times. The problem is, against Orks you want a lot of tanks, against Tau you want a minimal amount. I'll run Plague Marine heavy against Tau and laugh as they waste Railgun shots on my troops. Terminators DS in to blow their tanks apart from behind, and what you have left is a lot of Tau weenies (and the occasional Suit) left to mop up. Anything Khorne VS Orks and you'll win. Chaos Lord or DP vs Ork Warboss, Lord or DP will win 9 times out of 10.

True, that IS a killer combo to face. Offhand, I cant think of any "list" suggestions but you could try to play the denied flank against them and concentrate all of your forces on the end of the table with the most Tau. That way, thier longer ranged guns wont be any more effective then normal and youll have more troops to get into grips with them. That will also make the orks walk farther to get to you (by the time the rest of the orks get there, hopefully, you'll have mopped up the majority of the tau.

Raptors are a great bet for both, khorne raptors chuck out 40 attacks on the charge and that will decimate an ork boy squad before it can hit you, it will smush anything the tau can put out and close fast enough to reduce firepower.