Terminators and Deep Strike

Nanodave

Hi,

I am new to the hobby and I am gathering the figures for my first army. I chose space marines, and like the Raven Guard tactics. I was reading the most recent codex for Space Marines. It says that figures in terminator armor can deep strike, but terminator squads don't have that listed under their special rules. Can terminators deep strike?

Thanks in advance.

Technically yes, but you've found one of the glaring construction issues with the rules, namely the inconsistent and incomplete treatment of unit rules. Technically Deep-strike is a scenario rule, but certain models and wargear can 'use deep-strike' if the scenario allows it. The way it's handled from a design perspective is ridiculous, but short answer, yes, terminators can deep-strike.

"DEEP STRIKE

Some units' special rules allow them to enter play via tunnelling, teleportation, flying, or some other extraordinary means. If you wish to use this 'deep strike' option, then units must begin the game in reserve (...)

(...)

Note that some units always have the option to deep strike, while others may only arrive in this way in missions where the deep strike special rule is used. Of course all the standard missions presented here do use deep strike, so normally you won't need to worry about this distinction."

Some units have the ability to deep strike, but only if the mission allows the use of deep strike. Pretty straight forward.

It says that figures in terminator armor can deep strike, but terminator squads don't have that listed under their special rules. Can terminators deep strike?

To see it in print go to C:SM p102 and look under the "Terminator armour" entry, granted it's not ideally placed there and easily overlooked. Unlike a model or units Special Rule(s) that are always shown in their Army List entry, deep strike for terminators is granted by virtue of their Wargear which is also listed.