Steel brethern

Brother RedAxe

I was looking through the codex and noticed something on P 24 about the steel brethern's extensive use of transports and Drop Pods. Nowhere in the codex does it list any information on chaos forces use of drop pods. Where can I find the rules for it? i am new to the forces of Chaos as I am taking a tempoary break from my Tau army. Any help would be great.

chaos cant use drop pods . or to make it more complicated yes it does and we even have more versions of drop pods[pre heresy ones are flyers for example] , but GW in their wisdom decided it would be to broken to give an army with ultra grit and two specials drop pods . It would make us too good.

Chaos drop pods are called Dread Claws. The rules for them can be found on Page 100 of Imperial Armour Apocalypse, a forgeworld publication. Forgeworld obviously make the models as well. (Scroll down to the bottom of this page) Although, the plastic SM version is certainly much cheaper, and I'm sure probably convertable.

Rules-wise, more expensive than a SM drop-pod, not open topped, but no weapons.

Fluff-wise, the Steel Bretheren may be using stolen imperial drop pods, or even ones left over from when they turned renegade.

However, although he hasn't made it clear, the jeske is right in saying they're not in the codex, so not really useable 'pick up and play' games. But for Apoc or games with obliging friends; no problem. B)

Another option would be to use Codex:Space mainres for their rules instead, to utilise the fact that the Space Marines can use drop pods; or even Space Wolves, maybe? Other than the drop pods, and the colour scheme, what has drawn you to the Chaos forces; that is what else would you wantin you army and could you use another codex to represent this, or do you have your heart set on the other chaos troop types?