Slightly new to 40k, Codex questions

WRappiii

Okay, so I'm fairly new to 40k and have been using 4th Ed rules and Codices for the few months I've been playing. I had relatively little problems though I often forgot rules, but I've just updated to 5th Ed and now I'm extremely confused...

What I don't understand is the wargear sections of the Chaos Codex specifically (though its the same with all the 5th Ed Codices)...

It says under the wargear section that regular old CSM are equipped with a bolter, bolt pistol cc weapon and frag and krak grenades...

Is that all included in the cost? Does each model really carry a bolter AND a pistol, or can they choose to carry one or the other?

And what does that mean for my Plague Marines? What happened to True Grit? Do I still get the effects of True Grit from them carrying a pistol and bolt gun?

I beg your help! I asked another forum and it just confused me more...

Thank You

Right first things first. Forget EVERYTHING from the old codex as it has no bearing on this new book and it will just confuse you.

Yes they have all that equipment in their cost. And your PMs get T4(5) and Feel No Pain. There is no True Grit.

It is easy.

Every standard Chaos Marine has a bolter, a bolt pistol, a close combat weapon, frag and krak grenades included when you buy the marine. No extra cost.

The wargear differs only when you choose cult troops.

For Exapmle: Khorne Bersekers don´t have Bolters and Thousand sons don´t have any close combat weapon.

But thats all noted in the army list entry. When a wargear option costs extra poinst, it is noted there.

So does that mean that each PM can choose to fire the bolt pistol instead of the PM's primary gun in every shooting phase?

And does a PM get an extra attack in CC since he has a bolt pistol and CC weapon?

Thank you guys for the quick response! :D

So does that mean that each PM can choose to fire the bolt pistol instead of the PM's primary gun in every shooting phase?