A couple of doubts

Badaboom

Gday, I´m fairly new to the game (not the hobby, I´ve been collecting for years) and, as I have no real gaming experience in 40K, I´d like to ask a couple of things:

-Is the LRR a good option? What is it good for?

-Does a LS squadron of 3 typhoons make sense?

-Are Heavy Flamers on Veteran Squads actually useful?

These are some of the doubts I can think of now, thanks everybody for your aid!

The LRR is in a similar vein to the LRC.

Scoot dudes towards your target and unleash big flames and assault with _ _ _ _ (whatever your unit of cc death happens to be)

The flame cannons are lethal against MEq (Marine Equivalent - t4 sv 3+ minis) and anything up to that level of hardness.

The flame cannons counter the masses of cover 5th ed. has brought into action.

3 Typhoons. They are flexible and have great range and manoeuvrability.

But if you want AT, multi meltas (MM) will give you more kick. (though you have to be more daring ~ you want to be in 12" to get the MELTA rule in effect, but you can deepstrike them and shoot the turn you land :P )

Assault cannons are a good bet. A HB and AC will kill men well and the AC outperforms a Las Cannon against all AVs 10-14! (due to rending and having 4 shots)

Heavy flamers are horrific. s5 helps against all infantry and sv4+ is the armour value that if you can nullify (with AP 4 stuff like HF, Heavy bolters, Whirlwinds, etc.) you are on your way to killing all but MEq pretty easily.

Sternguard are good. To get the using HF, you need to drop pod or use a Rhino to do drive-by shooting.

What Chapter do you play as most of the time?

Well I am by no means an expert, but I can try and assist.

1. I have not ever faced one, but it looks good at denying terrain. It won't get the amount of mobile firepower a crusader has, but it has it's uses at keeping infantry away.