GD08 Salamanders Space Marine

jah-joshua

hey B&C...

this is my entry for the Bolter and Chainsword painting comp, in the single mini category...

for those who'd care to vote:

http://coolminiornot.com/241539

http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l266/jah-minis/forum%20pics/GD08sallie.jpg

http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l266/jah-minis/forum%20pics/GD08sallie1.jpg

http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l266/jah-minis/forum%20pics/GD08sallie2.jpg

http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l266/jah-minis/forum%20pics/GD08sallie3.jpg

it's my first attempt at the glowing lenses on the helmet, and my first go at a more realistic flame...

i don't really think that i pulled it off as well as Cyril, but i'll keep tryin'...

same goes for the flames...

i didn't want to do a straight Bobinator rip-off (check out his LOTD on CMON), but i don't think i quite captured the look of the realistic hot-rod flames on the cars these days...

i'll have to have a go again on some of the LOTD minis...

loads of freehand work on this guy including the chapter symbol, battle damage, and flames...

i had fun playin' with the battle damage again...

i'm happy with the sallie symbol, considering how small they are...

any C&C before the contest is appreciated...

i will have to take some shots for the contest without the plinth anyway...

i think i will have to redo the gem on the front of the hammer, as it's upside down...

i thought that the hammer would be a little more flat, like a baseball swing, but it's pretty well upright when glued on...

oh well, just one more little thing to fix...

pics really do help when it comes to lookin' for flaws in a paintjob...

thanks for lookin'...

cheers

jah