Uses for Librarians

terminatorAM

so i have never used a librarian before but i am seeing how usefull they could be as counters for alot of psyer lists ive seen lately, not least amoung them my primary opponent's Eldar list. so my main question is how to primarily use them on the field with the psychic hood as a constant deterant?

my 2 ideas:

1) put him in terminator armor and deep strike in w/ tactical termies and lysander and gate around to troubled areas and cause mass destruction (use w/ gate and either null zone or machine curse)

2) have him barebones riding in a LRC with a command squad for counter changing purposes or to put that extra pressure where its needed most (use w/ null zone and the cc power)

what looks best?

I usually have my libby driving around in a rhino along with a sternguard with combi-meltas. I use avenger and curse of the machine spirit. In that way he can stick his little psychic-hood head up from the rhino and curse the big tanks to (atleast!) prevent them from shooting (works well with the massive tanks such as some of the IG stuff or a land raider).

When they get close to infantry and want to screw them up by using the special issue ammunition along with rapid fire, the librarian is usually close enough to fire off avenger (AP3 flamer, mmmm).

I have found the force weapon to be nothing but a glorified power weapon. A couple games ago, I charged my Librarian in alone against three Tau Broadsides and a couple Shield Drones. The force weapon is really hard to wound with, and you need to get through the save to use the force power. Big Whoop... ;(

Of course that was against toughness 5, and he did last for three turns before dying. It was a decent gamble, because the Broadsides would have fallen back off the table.

Seems like he should be a bad@** in combat, but he's not. But, I guess compared to a normal Marine, he is. Just not worth the 100 pts for his CC value alone. Maybe on a bike... with sarg powerfist backup.