Help Me Out

Boot Leather

Ok so a little background, I started playing 40k a couple years ago. When i was first introduced to GW i started as a fantasy player and i can still proudly say that i am. Now on to the problem, as im sure anyone who plays fantasy can tell you 40k differs in that HQ, unlike heros and lords dont get loaded up on as much stuff as possible. In fact it is frowned upon and considered newbish if one does so. That being the case I have run into difficulties with this. Another issue that crops up is how to set up a "good" army list. I would like to be able to play in local tournaments some day and though it really doesnt matter if i win or lose, as the prize system is a raffle, I would like to say that I won at least one match. Now heres the problem I know how to outfit and use a fantasy army to some success but in terms of 40k i have no freaking clue. I started with Dark Angels and learned the hard way that they are not a new player friendly list. So i continued painting them in DA colors but started using the "generic" space marine list. Now heres where those reading this hopefully come in. I need help creating a space marine list that can in theory face down most foes, while still being easy and fun to use and play against. So is there any advice to offer or should I give up and go home?

Here is a list of the stuff I have:

-1 captain or chapter master

-1 command squad

-2 10 man squads of space marines

-1 devestator squad

-1 terminator squad (power fists, storm bolters)

-1 scout squad

-1 ironclad dread

-1 dread

-3 landspeeders (1 is a typhoon)

-9 bikers

-1 rhino

-1 vindicator

-2 predator (1 anti-infantry 1 anti-tank)

-1 land raider crusader