Vindicator vs Predator and Whirllwind questions

Vanor

Hullo ;)

I'm very new to Warhammer 40k and have some questions about the heavy support tanks. I'm trying to decide what to include in my army, and I'm mostly trying to decide between the Vindicator or a Pred with twin-linked lascannons and lascannons on the sides.

I can see the advantages for both, the one is great a dealing with hoards where the other is very well suited to taking out armor or other hard targets. I'm making my list for fun to play at the LGS, and don't have a army type or anything in mind, so I'm looking for the more versatile unit, one that would work well in most any game.

But I'm not sure which would would be best, and I can fit either one into my list without too much problem. Money however is a big problem so it's really one or the other for the most part.

Also I've been wondering if I'm missing something about Whirlwinds... because they don't seem all that useful.

They get Ord 1, which gives them one attack per turn with a small blast template at ST5 AP4 (or ST4 AP5 no cover) attack. I simply don't see how that is all that useful... A Vindicator hits harder with the same template, but with less range.

So is there something I'm missing that makes Whirlwinds worth the points? 1 small blast ST5 attack just doesn't seem like that big of a deal to me.

All three of them can be valid options but it really comes down to what your army needs.

1) Predator: I wouldn't use the 3x Lascannon Predator just because its so expensive. A much better value is the "Combi-Predator" which is Autocannon Turret and Lascannon sponsons. All weapons fire out to 48" and all of them are good at killing transports/walkers/MCs which is what you should be shooting at. The advantage is you save 45 points. Hell you could even give it a HK Missile for a 5th long range shot on turn 1 and its still alot cheaper.