Vulkan He'stan

Brother_Kaelgrim

Hey folks I'm painting up my sallie successors chapter and I plan on taking Vulkan as an HQ choice. His model is just great looking, and he looks pretty good from my very basic understanding of the rules (I'm just getting started).

How effective is he though? How effective will he be in an army with heavy librarian support and termies (if I can fit em in) as well as mid range fire support from tac marines?

Instead of launching on to my usual rant about how ridiculously overpowered he is for the price he costs, I will focus on the word "usual" that you may have noticed I used ;) and suggest you use the search function. Just look for "Vulkan" in this forum and you'll see many posts about him.

In summary: he's *very* effective, twin-linking melta weapons and flamers is very good against any mechanized (which is almost any tournie army) list and he's very, very good in an assault.

Not only does Vulkan twin link meltas and flamers, he also makes all Thunder hammers count as master-crafted, which makes your Assault termies all the more powerful. I've seen him run in a Land Raider Crusader (with twin linked flamestorms) with a squad of 5 terminators, all with Thunder hammers and Storm Sheids. The lowest strength in the group was 6 (Vulkan's relic blade), everyone had a 3+ invul, 2+ armor, and all hits in CC re-rolled. The larger your army is (that is, the more thunder-hammers, meltas, and flamers it includes) the more powerful Vulkan's special rules become. Additionally, his rules remain in effect even if he gets knocked out of the game. Truly a terror on the table.

...I've seen him run in a Land Raider Crusader (with twin linked flamestorms)...

I believe you mean Land Raider Redeemer(though that's immaterial).

The important note here is that the sponson flamestorm cannon don't benefit from Vulkan's rerolls(they're not flamers, or heavy flamers, nor are they meltas, or multi-melta).