Black Templars on a budget

marine77

I am a teacher, and as such, am poor. My entire Warhammer hobby has centered around my ability get good deals on models and to paint those models up nicey enough to sell and get new models with. Thus far, I have exclusively played Warhammer Fantasy starting with Dark Elves then moving on to Dwarfs, Wood Elves, Beastmen, and High Elves. I have always kept the Dark Elves and have lived to see them in vogue again. I currently have full Dark Elf and Hig Elf armies.

As such, I have always loved the space marine models. In particular, I have always had a huge desire to paint up a wicked looking Emperor's Champion model. The EC is one bad dude! It is because of this that I decided to start a Black Templar army, but in doing so, I am hoping to make it under the $500-600 that GW suggests as retail for it.

To aid me, I have used ebay, bartertown, and a local indy retailer to help me out.

Thus far, I have accumulated:

$60- Emperor's Champion

11 Initiates with black templar upgrades, 8 pistol/CCW, 1 fist, 1 melta gun

5 neophytes with pistol/CCW

$40- 10 Initiates with black templar upgrades, 6 pistol/CCW, 2 fists, 2 melta guns

5 neophytes with pistol/CCW

$23- 6 Terminators- 4 with stormbolters and power fists, 2 with assault cannons and powerfists

Coming up, I have a marine commander and a rhino coming my way.

I will attempt to keep everyone up to date on my painting attempts along the way. As such, I have been really inspired by Titan's plog on Relicnews. His painting, converting, and subsequently, army look amazing. I am blatantly ripping off some of his ideas as I am just not that creative. Here ends the rant and begins the pics. First are my terminators:

gallery_51613_4593_1353433.jpg

gallery_51613_4593_265250.jpg

gallery_51613_4593_722196.jpg

I have made only a few changes to these guys.

1) I have added the tabards to give them a crusader feel.