Worth playing Chaos now?

prophaniti13

Hello everyone...

...I've been playing Chaos exclusively for many years now. I've been through many Codex, played in tournaments (seriously and with friends). I gave 40k a hiatus for reasons based on the cost needed for modeling+painting and the time commitments needed.

My army(s) which consisted of around 5k points Black Legion, mixed with World Eaters and Death Guard, along with around 2k points of Blood Pact (used as Traitor Guard with the old Lost and the Damned lists) are now sitting on my shelf collecting dust. I even have a forge world Baneblade with that Blood Pact army.

I have since gotten back into 40k and picked up the new Codex. Now, not to sound like a spoiled brat or someone who has stated things which have already been stated since I know there's been a lot of talk on these forums about the new Codex and how everything has changed, but really, I'm wondering what can I possibly do with this new 'Dex?

Perhaps I need some motivation? Perhaps to put in a few games to get some old spark of life back into me? It just seems my army is so illegal nowadays, and with the lackluster support for legion specific armies I'm at a loss for making an army which is truly "fluffy".

Also, what changes do people find useful in this new book? What can I field which will have a positive effect on the battlefield? Looking at what's available it seems everything has been toned down with A LOT less customization for chaos lords+princes and chosen. Even possessed got nailed hard by the nerf-bat...

I'm really at a loss for words...and I don't want to seem like I'm complaining. The glory days are over, that's fine, I don't want to sit and sulk about it, it was bound to happen eventually. I just would like to know what I can do with these new changes that can makes things turn out for the better?