In need some some squad sergeant advice

Donkusai

Hello.

I am new to 40k and new to this forums.

I have decided to play warhammer 40k and have been collection and painting the army to get it ready for the tabletop. I have read over all the rules and understand the unit options, I just do not have enough real game experience to know what sounds good vs what is good.

I am using magnetism on some of the models like the devastators so that I can switch back and forth between weapons as I want and not lock myself down to any one model using any one weapon. I want my army to be "wysiwyg". I am running into some trouble with the squad sergeants though. I started off by magnetizing all the arms so that I had options but I have heard some people talk and it sounds like squad sergeants always get the same gear. An example is the tactical sergeant. It sounds like regardless of the options he is always best with a power fist and bolt pistol.

I was hoping you guys could give me some advice on squad sergeants. If they will always be fielded using the same options I can just build them as such with the models and not worry about having all the snap on parts. What gear do you always give your sergeants of different squads?

I will link some images to give an example of what I am talking about. I want to have the army painted and done before I actually take to the table.

http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs019.snc3/12635_1271304304069_1273717077_791056_6324330_n.jpg

http://hphotos-snc3.fbcdn.net/hs039.snc3/12635_1271304384071_1273717077_791058_1623433_n.jpg

http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs019.snc3/12635_1271311064238_1273717077_791074_35538_n.jpg

http://hphotos-snc3.fbcdn.net/hs039.snc3/12635_1271313744305_1273717077_791085_3445854_n.jpg