BIKE SQUADS

rolloverbeethoven

They're fun. Different from the tactical squads, but I like them. Relentless and Turbo Boost are cool, along with the toughness 5.

If you want to tie up infantry without powerweapons, they are great. Take 5 with flamers and a powerweapon, and you'll come out on top. If you just want them to deal with tanks, Sarg with Powerfist, two bikes with Melta's and an attack bike with a Multi melta will get the job done.

I think they are great.

I love bikes and run a bike heavy list as my primary army out of the space marine codex. If done right and done in mass it can be a very competitive army. My favorite thing about them is their speed but the fire power is lacking so you would need to bring stuff to supplement that. Over all they can be very flexible army and will force your opponent to react to you not the other way around. I have no experience in running them as a solo unit in a regular army.

I've used bike armies in the past. (all three variations, ork, eldar and marine chaos and loyalist)

Three things. Larger bike squads can surround transports with kraks+fist attacks and make sure the occupants die because of 1" distance rule. Especially rhinos, because vehicle explode results lets them be placed where the wreck used to be instead of disembarking like a wreck. Eldar vehicles are harder to do this to, so the larger the squad or using several squads can perform this way.

So on that note, I prefer flamers, since terrain is their weakness. With a few flamers on bikes, TL bolters who prefer to be close for rapid fire and a multi-melta attack bike for good balance makes a great balanced unit. Because if you're getting within 6" to get the 'melta' rule to take effect, you should assault the vehicle instead and try to turn it into cover for the unit, or get stuck in with an enemy unit if possible to prevent being shot.