Wood predator

GuruD

Being a poor college student I sometimes have to be creative when expanding my army. So here is my WIP predator created from wood. The first step was to sketch out the top and sides of the rhino hull and use a 50 watt laser to engrave the wood.

gallery_4859_4702_251240.jpg

gallery_4859_4702_1295949.jpg

Next I used a bandsaw to cut each of the pieces out.

gallery_4859_4702_1355638.jpg

gallery_4859_4702_760308.jpg

I used a belt sander, a dremel and a file to clean up the pieces.

gallery_4859_4702_399474.jpg

The Laser even did a great job on some of the fine detail work.

gallery_4859_4702_997814.jpg

Here it is as it will be when I assemble it.

gallery_4859_4702_424779.jpg

gallery_4859_4702_196738.jpg

I will try to post more as I go along.

Last time I bought something that had a rhino hull was with the old version so the sides might be a little small. I used the laser at the high school I graduated from years ago. I was really close to the technology teacher after taking 4 classes from him, and so he is fine with me using his laser to work on stuff like this. I am still working on ideas for the turret but I have the pieces for two lascannon sponsons that come with the land raider crusader so I will be using those to finish it up.

Last time I bought something that had a rhino hull was with the old version so the sides might be a little small. I used the laser at the high school I graduated from years ago. I was really close to the technology teacher after taking 4 classes from him, and so he is fine with me using his laser to work on stuff like this. I am still working on ideas for the turret but I have the pieces for two lascannon sponsons that come with the land raider crusader so I will be using those to finish it up.
My wife is a high school science teacher and wants to know where in the world you went to high school. She can't even get paper for photocopies.....let alone a LASER! The predator looks awesome.