Predator

ImperialReaper

Rerading trough the various army lists in this forum, I came to realise that the predator is the weapon of choice for heavy armored fire support for many players. Compared to a dreadnought it is also quite cheap in points - which makes it very interesting for me, since i am quite new to the game and mostly do Games between 600 and 1000 Points.

I just finished building my predator *happy* but i am now unshure about how to spend my points:

Sync Laser Canon and 2 side mounted heavy bolters OR autocannon (that standard gun thing there) and 2 side mounted Laser Canons.

Equipping all 3 Laser Canons would make it too expensive i think.

Mostly I play against Chaos, other Space Marines, Imperial Guard or Eldar - where heavy armor occures more often.

Against hords of Orcs or Tyranids I would probably go for the highest numer of shots and leave the autocannon and get the 2 heavy bolters and an additional stormbolter.

Your expertise would be appriciated.

Regards

Tony

The most overall useful version is probably the "Combi-Predator" which is a Autocannon turret and Lascannon sponsons. This gives you alot of long range firepower to direct against enemy tanks, walkers and MCs. Its also not horrible against MEQs or other infantry. In this setup, I like the HK Missile if you have the spare points, because its just 1 more long range anti-tank weapon to fire first turn.

My second choice is the "Dakka Predator" with Autocannon/Heavy Bolters and optional Storm Bolter. Its a cheap good buy but it also competes with the Whirlwind and Thunderfire Cannon for pure anti-infantry firepower.

My vote goes for AC/HB combo for cost efficiency. If LC side sponsons, you can't fire them and move, and that's an expensive thing not to use for even one turn.

It's not as big a deal to not fire the HB because they're really cheap. Plus, it's the cheapest option other than just AC as suggested above. But, imo an AC alone makes it a non-factor and not worth taking.