Drop pods and LOS

Archenemy

Hi, I'm a bit of a lurker around here, hopefully I'll be a bit more sociable now I'm assembling my first 40k army and I'm hoping I can get a few answers about Drop Pods before I assemble them. Never having actually played 40k and not being in an area where anyone plays I have no experience or other 40k players to confer with.

Being a slow painter I was hoping to take a few shortcuts and glue 2 of my 3 Drop Pods permamently shut to cut down on painting the interiors, do the doors of the Pods block LOS when in the open position on the ground or is it negligable in reguards to LOS. I guess I should also ask wether a Pod totally blocks LOS when open or can you shoot through an open one?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

This has been debated here at length before with no real conclusion. I think it's best discussed with an opponent before the game starts as to how (your) pods will work whichever way the doors are actually fixed.

All I'll say is as per the fluff – doors are blown off to allow the embarked unit out. There is no mention of them being closed again. One could assume that a pod sits there with its doors open from the point of disembarkation onwards – meaning possible LOS through the pod. However, there is no specific ruling this way.

Doors glued shut thus presents a problem as no True Line of Sight is possible.

Cheers

I

Also note the model has a storm bolter on the inside... with door glued shut they would have a hard time shooting anything.. (Doors beeing AV12 and all).

I take it the model is intended to open up, and act as cover save generator, not per se as a los blocker.

As I am currently cutting 3 pods from their sprue I can agree on the sentiment though, those safety bars that hold the marines in place are a POS to cut lose without breaking something OR cutting your finger... I have a thumb criss crossed with straight lines atm... and I'm not done yet.