Hunting Tanks

ImperialReaper

I recently asked for opinions on what the best configuration for an predator tank is.

Reading through the various answers it dawned on me that a heavy armored tank is not the only way to destroy another heavy armored tank. Most people seemed to prefer smaller, more agile units to destroy tanks.

Since most people only read the first post of any topic, I never got an answer on the question wheather the predator even is the best weapon against enemy armor. It seems to me like a landspeeder with rockets and a mulimelter or even an assaultsquad with melterbombs could do the job more direct and efficient. Or maybe it depends on the battlefield? The heavy armored predator could be deployed on open space because he does not depend on cover that much. Landspeeders and assault squads could me more usefull e.g. in city fights where they can jump over a building and hit the enemy from behind.

Since I am relatively new to the game - I mostly do games around 600 points - up to a maximum of 1000 points.

Again your expertise is appreciated

Predators, despite being billed as mobile fire support, are static entities on the tabletop (unless you are BA). All our best Anti-Tank is fast attack (Land Speeders, Bikes, Attack Bikes) or Elites (TH and Chainfist armed Terminators, DCCW Ancients).

Assault Squads are good against most armour, but bad against Raider-class targets. Tactical Squads can also kill pretty much anything that's not a Raider, thanks to Krak grenades.

Don't expect one Melta Bomb to solve all your troubles vs. Raiders. Most Raiders you ever get to Assault will be 6s to hit.

AV14 is done by melta. For codex marines this means tacticals, MM/HF speeders, Multimeltas on Landraiders.

AV13 is done by Lascannons, melta and Pfists and Thunder hammers. For codex marines this means tacticals, predators, and the aformentioned melta units.