Solomon Demeter

Dutch508

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_DGI50PzaCyE/S76Sp4e9oII/AAAAAAAAAK4/Y-fzKVyPt6U/s1600/101_2319.JPG

Let me start off by saying I am not a professional painter, but I enjoy painting. That said, I have recently become inspired by this site and others to do more than just build miniatures out of the box. Having read the Horus Heresy books I wanted to build an army based on the pre-heresy times and chose the Emperor's Children for no other reason that I like the color purple.

I chose to do a kitbash for the army's commander and picked the second company captain, Solomon Demeter. Based on the book, Fulgrim, it gave me the ideas needed for the figure, the enhanced chainsword and bolter, no helmet, and tanned face.

The figure is a mash of spare parts out of my boxes. The head is off the new Blood Angels veterans, the body from the Tac Marines, arms from the same. The backpack is a modified Chaos Marines. The base is an Armourcast one.

I have done my very first greenstuff work, doing minor mods to the armor and shoulderpad crest, the backbanner crest and on the chainsword and bolter.

It is my goal to build a playable army using the same type of work on all models.

More pics at my blog.

http://www.maciraq.blogspot.com/

Cons:

- As you say, you're not a very good painter. Sorry to say, just painting the armour purple looks okay, but not great at all

- Here and there the painting's a little sloppy; try to keep it very clean.

- The armour doesn't really resemble Heresy-era power armour.

- Pre-Heresy Emperor's Children Colour scheme is described as purple and gold, not purple and yellow.

Pros:

- You put a lotr of effort into the banner and the shoulder pads, and I think you have a certain potential for free-handing as well as for Green Stuff work - though you still need practice :devil: Generally, I really like both the banner and the shoulder pads.