Scout questions

Gavin

I am fairly new to the game and have not played much more than the Battle Mission Kill Team scenario, but I have been buying and building models with the intent to play larger games. My newest acquisition to my DIY Chapter was a single box of scouts with sniper rifles. I happily ripped open the box and inspected the sprues planning on getting them done up right and inserted into my army for when I get down to the playing aspect of the hobby.

3 things jumped out to me as I was figuring out their gear and point costs. I built them, but have had this nagging set of questions in my head that I cannot seem to get rid of. So, after having searched through the rules here and not having found answers to what I feel are fairly noob questions, I pose them here to get answers (and made fun of most likely).

Question 1.

There is no apparent ‘sergeant’ in the unit. Is this to mean that I can simply designate one as the sergeant for a game?

My thought:

I plan on using the one that seems to have had the option to be giving the hand gesture that seems like it could be ‘giving orders’. He is the one standing up with the sniper rifle cradled at the elbow and hip pointing up like he is holding it up and out of the way.

Question 2.

There are 4 cloaks and 5 figures, so obviously all of them physically cannot have the cloaks. Is it really required that I show all 5 cloaks if I pay for them in points?

My thought:

I realize there are WYSIWYG rules, but Games-Workshop’s blatant attempt to make me buy 2 boxes for 1 full WSYWIG stealth unit is annoying and a bit more costly than I can handle atm.