500pt list help

dudemanwow

Hi guys, I believe this is the right area for this. I am new to 40k and am working on getting a 500pt army for a battle with my friend who plays Tau. I am wondering what i should include in my army list. I have AoBR and I am planning to field 2, 10 man tac squads, and the AoBR captain. Any suggestions on my list or what to equip my guys with would be helpful.

What are some good tactics for fighting Tau?

Also should I use a captain of go for a chaplain because of the fewer points?

Thanks again!

At 500 points, I would worry less about how to fight Tau specifically and more about learning the game and having a good time. <3

That said, go with the flamer/ML combo as they're free upgrades and solid weapons. Throw a power fist in at least one of those tac squads, maybe two if you have the parts.

Tau are very powerful at range and very, very weak in melee. If you can get close, shoot with pistols instead of your bolterguys and ML (the flamer is okay to use) and charge them. You'll eat them. Once they understand this, they will do all they can to get away from you.

Get Rhinos. Encourage your Tau-playing friend to also get Transports. They define this current version of the game and, esp. if you ever play with other people, you will need them.

Have a good time. =)

Thanks man, I really appreciate it! Yeah we have done a few small skirmishes just a few troops vs a few troops and we have learned most of the rules accept vehicles and upgrades. Just as a question do you recommend using a chaplain instead of a captain? If I used a chaplain do you think that I would have enough points for a rhino? Thanks again for you helpful information!

Welcome to the Forums.

A chaplain will actually be cheaper in the long run than a Captain... because a chaplain is well equiped at 100pts. Jumppacking Chaplains are perfect at 115pts. A captain needs equipment to be worth while.