Jump packs or Rhinos?

Lord_Reven

Hey, I am relatively new to space marines (usually play Necrons) and so I am not 100% sure what i should do with the assault squads (For Blood Angels). If they are 5-6 putting them in a Razorback would be better then the rhino, since for 5 pts more you get a heavy bolter, but what about 7-10 man squads, should they keep their jump packs, or should they be put in a rhino? Are some things better VS. certian types of armies?

To start, don't think in terms of "this way is better against this army".

A good all-comers list will have bad match-ups, sure, but it'll be good against most match-ups.

As for Rhinos vs. Jump Packs, with Blood Angels, you have your choice. Blood Angels can make a really nice fast mech army, or they can make the best jump pack armies of all Space Marines chapters. But do one or the other, as they're entirely different army types. A Jump Pack army, for instance, requires Sanguinary Priests for their Feel No Pain bubble, or else you're in trouble. A mech Blood Angels army doesn't need Priests, so you have more flexibility in your Elites and HQ choices.

Mech is more typical for Marines in general, and you're usually in position to be in the enemy's face by turn 2. You're more likely going to be coming in waves, as you have a chance of your transports being destroyed, immobilized, or stunned while cruising across midfield. Most of your force will probably arrive just fine, and you'll have more Marines in-tact.

Jump Packs are a signature of Blood Angels. They're usually going to arrive with some attrition, but just when you want them to get there. Descent of Angels also gives you a lot of really interesting options if you choose to go that way.

Bah to "all-comers". No real army goes into battle with no clue as to their enemy and its disposition. It's just one more reason that tournament all-comers is the least fun type of battle environment to play in!