Black Templar

PH34RB0T

Hey everyone. I've been interested in 40k for quite a while, but never really gotten into it, save for the 2 tactical squads and rhinos I bought a while ago (Now that I think about it, it was like a year and a half ago...). I've been getting myself reacquainted with the game because there's a LGS near where I'm going off to college in the fall, and I've finally gotten around to starting to paint my mini's. So far I only have one done, but I can already tell that I'm a lackluster painter... Oh, well. I'll post pictures of him tomorrow, but be kind. He's my first miniature I've painted, and I'm just using Apple Barrel paints and brushes :unsure:, but for now, any advice to a new painter/enthusiast?

Use a basecoat.

Keep your paints thin but not watery.

Foundation paints and washes are awesome.

Seal your models when you're done.

Drill your barrels.

Base your minis. Small gravel or what have you works great.

Remove mold lines! :)

Be creative.

Just started my first BT army aswell I will post some links that helped me start of :) if you need the paint recipes for all their schemes send me a PM and ile send em over.

Inspiration:

http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php...age=1&pp=15

http://www.bolterandchainsword.com/index.p...plars&st=50

Tutorial:

http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=97359

gallery_42895_4994_626390.jpg

Well, here's the first mini. It doesn't look like it turned out too well, but I don't plan on giving up. It's still pretty WIP seeing as how I still need to flock the base, paint the end of the boltgun, and the body still doesn't look right to me... It seems to flat.

Okay. I tried to highlight it... I'd like to think it's not too bad. Anything else I should do to make it look nice? This is still more-or-less a test mini, so I have time to change stuff.

gallery_42895_4995_96615.jpg