Sniper Scouts

Lord Viper

Hello friends,

I'm just starting to build my first SM army, and as you can imagine I'm really new in the game. Yesterday I had a question but wasn't able to put it to your consideration until today.

I have a small (5-man) scout squad that I'm just putting together. It's my first Scout squad, and I was wondering if you could suggest: HOW MANY of them should be built with sniper rifles ? Also, are sniper rifles a good/moderate choice for scouts ?

Our community of players is small, and no one here is a power-player (yet). Most of the people play SM, and we got a couple of players with necron, tyranids and orks. We're all learning and although I don't want to power-build my army, I could use a good starting army choice, so I would really like to know your opinion about this.

To summarize: How many snipers (if any) are good, and how many are too much (or too little) ?

Thank you very much in advance.

I have a small (5-man) scout squad that I'm just putting together. It's my first Scout squad, and I was wondering if you could suggest: HOW MANY of them should be built with sniper rifles ? Also, are sniper rifles a good/moderate choice for scouts ?

if your using snipers its the whole squad or not at all, also ten man sniper squads are far better

Unfortunately, 0 is the best number of sniper rifles you can take. It comes down to sheer numbers: 50% of all your scouts' shooting will miss, and of that 50%, only 50% will wound. Now that part is, at least, reliable. Unfortunately, it means that even with a 10-man squad of snipers (including a heavy-weapon Scout and a Sergeant), you're meting out a paltry two wounds per turn, which practically everyone gets a save against (oh, you can rip right through Ork armor... yay). And rending is, unfortunately, gimped by being slapped on a single-shot weapon. The assault cannon gets this right, at least.