Greater Daemon

Canadin

I have recently come across a second-hand cool daemon model from LOTR. As I already have 2 daemon princes, I figured that I would make it into a greater daemon.

So, seeing as I have never used one before, I figured that I would ask around to see how others may have used this model. Its relatively cheap for it's stat-line (even including the champion you must sacrafice). I figured that I could insert it with any one of bikers, CSM, or chosen.

What has anyone else done for their greater daemons?

the biggest problem with greater daemons is mobility, with no wings they are next to useless unfortunately, also to be effective you need to have atleast 2-3 naked champs (if you leave just one champ naked he'll be targeted early leaving you the only option of popping a useful one) which means less fists in your force. a biker champ also pushes the cost up a bit.

it's a shame really as i think most people would like to include them but they really aren't worth compared to the cost of a daemon prince which has wings and performs better. i'd much prefer it if they were summoned by a sorc and had the option of taking wings.

I've been toying with putting one into my list. Now that the whole "lack of wings" thing has been pointed out thanks to this thread, I think I might not.

For once, these powergamer threads actually helped me ;) .

I tried to find a use for one out of stubbornness in the last couple of games i played. Two of the games i remember against mech guard i reserved everything and he spawned while nobody was on the table and therefor died.

Epic wast of points in those conditions.

I think he only ended up helping me out once against BA when they were in my face. I was left with the difficult choice of killing a powerfist in a tac squad or killing my havoc sgt with no fist, but a turn or two away from the fight. It didn't seem like a decision i wanted to make anymore so i stopped using him.