I need some drop pod advice

7Thunders

Hi! Folks.

i am in the process of building a drop pod for my crimson fists.

i really like it. :P truth be told it's giving me fits with the

Building of it.

anyways,since i am still new to the game,i was wondering what

to put into the pod.

1: should i use a 10 man sternguard squad with a libby to gate out

of trouble?

or

2: use a simple 10 man tactical squad,possibly with a chaplain,and

block fire lanes and try to mess with the opponents plans?

which is considered more efficient.? Oh by the way, the sternguard have

2 combi melta and 2 combi plasma (i was not about to waste those extra

Weapons that came in both of my boxes) :o

which leaves me with this final question: what else can you do with a drop

pod?

Are their any special tactics one can use to mess up line of sight?

Can you use them to hide behind?

thanks in advance

The first drop pod you put together really sucks, but trust me it gets easier the more you build. As far as tactics go, I've found that sternguard work great in pods. Just don't bite off more than you can chew with them, all to often i've seen people drop a unit of pricey strenguard in to the middle of there opponents army, kill something, then die on the next turn. This is the tricky part with drop pods, is how you get that squad you just landed to not get blasted to bits after the initial landing. With multiple drop pods you can really block off a good section of the battlefield, they're big and also excellent to take cover behind. Ironclads work wonders in pods as do venerables. Everyone craps on the good old venerable but they are hard as hell to destroy. Plus with a BS 5 mult-melta on the landing will pop most tanks. A tactical squad is not a very good first strike unit, they don't hit nearly as hard as any of these units i've mentioned and I would only put them in a drop pod if I was doing an all pod army.