Plasma or lascannon on Dread?

FenixAstartia

So, let's get to it then.

I am a newbie to the 40k boardgame, but i got alot of experince with the fluff.

I have chosen to start a homgrown SM chapter and i need some advice on what to put on one of my dreads.

I'm thinking on using one as a long-range unit, using missiles for infantry and supression (advice on this would be good too) and using a plasma cannon vs tanks.

But i'm having second thougths, wondering if a lascannon might do the Plasma cannons job better.

I haven't bought the codex yet but i need some quick answers and can thus only relate to the rulebook.

So what are you veterans thoughts on this?

Thanks for any answer, except ban warnings...

Plasma cannons are infantry destroyers, small blast, S7 and AP2 means they wound almost all infantry I can think of on a 2+(nurgle bikers at T6 on a 3+), and ignore any armor saves. Plasma cannon can at best be used against vehicles up to AV13(armor pen is strength of the weapon plus a D6, 7+6 is 13, so you can glance AV13), but the nature of blast weapons makes them less suitable for shooting at vehicles, and specifically vehicles with a small footprint on the table(due to scatter). I personally don't shoot at anything more armored than a rhino with mine if possible. On a dread they never "get's hot" and blow up, always a good thing.

The missile/plasma combo is a good one on a dread, vs heavy infantry, monstrous creatures, or light vehicles, you have a plasma blast and a single S8 AP3 krak shot, and vs low toughness hordes you can drop two blast templates. It's a versatile setup that can have great impact on the table.

The las/missile setup is the traditional armor destroyer, the remarkably accurate S9 lascannon coupled with the S8 kraks mean you can fire at any target on the table with a fair chance of hurting it.