Need help with an 1500pt Rapid DS assault

Br0ther Rafen

Hi all

i need some help making an 1500pt army of vanillia marines to use against other SM armies in friendly games.

Theme is a massive DS assault, with some units airdropped in before hand.

Here is what I have:

HQ

Pedro Kantor 175 1385

Elites

x5 Sterngaurd unit w/ CombiMelta and fist DP 190pt

x5 Sterngaurd unit w/ HF and CCW 170pt

x5 Tac Termies w/ HF 205pt

Troops

x10 Tactical Squad w/ ML, PG 180pt

x5 Tac Squad w/ flamer, Teleport Homer MB DP 145pt

x5 Tac Squad w/ MG, Teleport Homer DP 145pt

x10 Tac Squad w/ ML, MG 175pt

Heavy Support

Vindicator 115pt

Total: 1500pt

I would appreciate any tips on how to improve this army would be great.

PS i am not very good at making good lists so any criticism would be appreciated.

You're going to have a hard time with this list, especially if you're new. You have zero mobility. Your Drop Pods come in, bam...and you're stuck foot-slogging while your mobilized opponent drives circles around you, ranges you, and whittles you down. It can be done, but it'll be challenging for you.

That said, I like how many tacticals you have; I would personally mount most of them in Rhinos, even if the others do have Drop Pods. Mobility is vital to 5th ed.

You can't give any weapons to a 5 man tactical squad, unless I am reading your list wrong and those two 5 man squads are really one squad that has been combat squadded. Also, I am not a fan of the vindicator to be honest, just doesn't perform well for me. I agree with thade, some rhinos would help out alot. Drop pods are awesome and I love them, but by themselves they fall fast. Also, the heavy flamer on the sternguards might not be a good idea. Sternguards are awesome with bolters and special ammo and the heavy flamer might be too close for comfort. I would instead put a few combi flamers instead.

I'll give what feedback I can:

HQ

Pedro Kantor 175 1385