Help with 1000 pt. Vanilla SM Army.

Cpt. Tiberious

Vanilla Marine List entries...

(Keep in mind I'm a noob when it comes to actually PLAYING the game lol, please bare with me.)

Space marine Captain

Frag & Krak Grenades

Iron Halo

Bolter

Artificer Armor

Relic Blade

Digital Weapons

155 pts.

ATTACHED TO...

Vanguard Veteran Squad

(Vet Sgt. & 4 Veteran Marines)

Power Armor x5

Frag & Krak Grenades x5

Bolt Pistol x5

Power Weapon x5

Razorback APC

Smoke Launchers

Searchlight

Extra Armor

Twin-Linked Assault Cannon

275 pts.

My thoughts on this particular unit is to use it as a high mobility, high lethality close combat element. This is how I intend to use this particular setup.....

Turn 1: Move with the unit embarked in the APC, stopping 12" from enemy unit, pivot around 180 degrees, pop smoke if deemed necessary .

Turn 2: Disembark unit and move 6" toward enemy unit. Shoot with bolt pistols, bolter, and TLAC at enemy unit I intend to assault. CHARGE! Mop up survivors with power weapon spam.

Rules wise, this would work. However this is best case scenario, as the likelihood of the Razorback's smoke saving it from everything the enemy will undoubtedly throw at it is a tricky subject, depending on how much anti-vehicle weaponry he has on the field in range.

I detest the use of Jumppack because frankly I hate the way a marine looks with a jet engine strapped to his back, so a transport is the way I would like to go. I use the Vanguard Squad instead of assault marines because of the extra attacks, and the ability to outfit every marine with a power weapon. Very expensive I know but ignoring armor saves when play against other Marine armies, especially Chaos, is great.

My questions are: Would this be a prudent strategy to use? Would this be better suited for a Rhino instead of a Razorback?

Any tips to make this work are welcome.

(Sorry bout that.)