Rapid Fire range

Jorre

I have been playing 40k on and off for 13 years, as such sometimes my interpritation of even the simple rules can get a little warped with the different versions of the game!

Last night when playing kill team I was shown the rapid fire rule in the rule book through the eyes of a first time player. Now I think I may have been playing it wrong all this time so I thought I'd ask here.

If a marine with a bolter moves 6 inch can he fire a single shot upto 24 inches (this is how I have always played it). After re-reading the section on rapid fire in the rule book I seem to get the impression that if you move you can only fire a rapid fire weapon upto 12 inches even if only firing one shot. I could not find anything to contradict this in the rule book

If a Marine moves 6", he can shoot twice at 12".

If a Marine stands still, he can shoot either one shot at 24" or two shots at 12".

I'm not sure that permission is implicitly given to fire fewer shots than the weapon profile permits, but I certainly wouldn't deny you that.

I see, so I think I have been doing it wrong.

A marine cannot move 6 and fire 24 with a bolter ?

Correct.

Also, you can't choose to fire less than two shots with a Rapid Fire weapon. However, almost every space marine gets a bolt pistol which is a single shot at 12"...so taking a single shot at 12" in and of itself is still okay for you. :P (Check the Wargear on a marine to see if he's got a bolt pistol as well as his boltgun; I don't think any marines with boltguns - at least in the 5E codexes - don't also have pistols.)

I see, so I think I have been doing it wrong.

A marine cannot move 6 and fire 24 with a bolter ?

Yes , this is incorrect.

Any model with a rapid fire weapon may not move and fire the weapon over 12"

12" and under you may fire but you always take two shots.

Read the BRB pg 29 RAPID fire Weapons.