Black Templar themed Space Wolves

marine77

I don't like your rune priest... I mean the model itself is fine and painted well... but some how it looks wrong... I mean he looks like some kind of shaman... and I don't see that as Black Templars or knights/Warriors theme... even if we ignore the we hate witches bit... I think I would have gone with some kind of warrior mage... maybe with robes being blow by the winds of magic as the power flows around him... or maybe some kind of Emperors Champion style guy with the psychic powers representing his holy blessings... or the favour of the god emperor or something... To be honest I'm not sure what I would do... he just seems to stand out of the army a bit... and not in a good way... although as I say he looks fine taking him by himself... maybe being photos and not reading your blog I've missed something that binds him to the rest of the army.

@Darkseer. Thanks for the comments. Yeah, I am a poor teacher IRL, so whatever makes my models more flexible makes me a happy gamer. With my current setup I can play these guys as Space Wolves (which they are tooled to do), Black Templars (which was the original intent some time ago), blood angels (which I have no interest in playing), or codex marines. I have enough extra models to create a totally separate Codex marine list and am making a 6 dread list at the moment.

@Hellios. Thanks for the comments as well. All I can say, it this is where a desire to play competitively violates fluff. My fluff reason for having a psycher in the army is that this is a penitence crusade and the castellan in charge is so short on recruits and battle strategy, he has had to adopt some of the strategies/tactics and personnel (via induction) of the world's population. This means including a psycher who he knows he will probably have to kill himself in the future.

really nice models indeed.