The Gift of Chaos

irongryphon

Hello my brothers of bloodshed. I was working on building up my first army when an interesting idea came upon me. I was planning on giving one of my HQs the gift of chaos ability.

Now hear me out, my plan as it stands now is to give it to my daemon prince who will be engaged in close combat for most of the battle anyways. This works out as it can only be used on a target that is within 6" and can be used in close combat. From there it's the d6 above the targets toughness, which is more often then not a 30% to 50% chance of instant death to that target with no saves. After that, it gets even better! From what I can tell, the destroyed enemy then turns into a free chaos spawn under my control (the rules don't say anything about the spawn having to be in reserves or even purchased). So in the end, I have a good chance of one hitting enemies then turning them into my own units for free.

Now, keep in mind I am really new to the game and might be missing something in my own naivety, so some feedback would be appreciated before I go out and buy a bunch of chaos spawn models.

For the glory of chaos!

It is definitely fun, especially if you maange to transform an important enemy model such as a sergeant or even a HQ. And yes, the Spawn appears directly in the place where the enemy model used to be, no reserve or deep strike. But in parctice it is not that easy. You have to pass a psychic test, which is not allways easy against Marines or Eldar, and after that you have to roll over the target's toughness, which in most cases (when fighting other Marines) is 4. So in a standard game you will get to maybe transform one enemy model per game. More only if you are lucky.

You should be careful in killpoint games, as then the enemy will get extra killpoints for killing the spawn. But transforming an enemy HQ is just priceless.