How to use CC-oriented Defilers

pattison

Hello guys,

I'm kind of new to CSM, I have quite a lot of C:SM experience though.

I've bought FW's Plague Hulk that I plan to use as a Defiler in normal games.

It has a huge cannon and a huge sword. So according to WYSWYG I should swap all the ranged weaps to CCWs.

And I also like the idea of running this beast into the lines of the enemy, it's just beautiful.

The question is: how to survive with your HtH Defiler? When it's a shooty one it's pretty obvious, but how can you avoid getting blasted by a single lascannon shot (or even missile) before reaching close combat with your full-DCCW version?

Smoke and pray?

Anyone with experience in using CC Defilers please share your tricks with me.

Cheers!

ps: I know this is the Tactica Astartes forum, but I could not find a "Tactica Chaotica" one, just the Chaos Army Lists... please move topic if needed.

but how can you avoid getting blasted by a single lascannon shot (or even missile) before reaching close combat with your full-DCCW version?
Field two, or three. Or bring more threatening targets for him to shoot at, like 2x DPs with wings.

You have to field multiple high-threat targets. Two CC Defilers flanking a LR full of Berzerkers & Khârn, which is then flanked by a Lash prince and 3 Rhinos full of meltagun IoCG marines creates a large wall of targets that need to die. Not to mention a squad of Chosen that outflank and make a mess of anything on the flanks.

Something like this:

2000 pts

HQ

Khârn: 165 pts

DP: MoS, Wings, Lash - 155 pts

Troops

Chaos marines: 10 marines, 2 Mguns, Champ with Sword, IoCG, Rhino w/EA - 260 pts

Chaos marines: 10 marines, 2 Mguns, Champ with Sword, IoCG, Rhino w/EA - 260 pts

Khorne Berzerkers: 9 marines - 189 pts

Heavy Support

Defiler: CC arms - 150 pts

Defiler: CC arms - 150 pts

Land Raider: DP - 240 pts

Elites

Chosen: 6 marines, 5 Mguns - 158 pts

Just an example of how I would integrate defilers into a list.